The Inner Voice of Who Knows What

the pilgrimage: Henri Nouwen and my own topsy-turvy little heart

Does this make anyone else cry?

Gimme Shelter.
The Rolling Stones.

I can’t tell if it’s the mournful guitar intro, or Merry Clayton’s powerful pleading voice, or simply the word children… All this destruction is just a shot away, if we don’t pay attention to it and keep it from happening.

It always makes me cry, but I never really listened to the lyrics until tonight.
And somehow they drove it home.

Mick Jagger in a Rolling Stone interview:
“Well, it’s a very rough, very violent era. The Vietnam War. Violence on the screens, pillage and burning. And Vietnam was not war as we knew it in the conventional sense… That’s a kind of end-of-the-world song, really. It’s apocalypse.”

It is this tangible apocalypse that makes me cry. It happens more than we know.

Oh, a storm is threat’ning
My very life today
If I don’t get some shelter
Oh yeah, I’m gonna fade away

War, children
It’s just a shot away
It’s just a shot away

War, children
It’s just a shot away
It’s just a shot away

Ooh, see the fire is sweepin’
Our very street today
Burns like a red coal carpet
Mad bull lost its way

War, children
It’s just a shot away
It’s just a shot away

War, children
It’s just a shot away
It’s just a shot away

Rape, murder!
It’s just a shot away
It’s just a shot away

Rape, murder!
It’s just a shot away
It’s just a shot away

Rape, murder!
It’s just a shot away
It’s just a shot away

The floods is threat’ning
My very life today
Gimme, gimme shelter
Or I’m gonna fade away

War, children
it’s just a shot away
It’s just a shot away
It’s just a shot away
It’s just a shot away
It’s just a shot away

I tell you love, sister
It’s just a kiss away
It’s just a kiss away
It’s just a kiss away
It’s just a kiss away
It’s just a kiss away
Kiss away, kiss away

Love, sister, it’s just a kiss away
Kiss away, kiss away

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Does this make anyone else cry?

  1. i don’t think i’ve ever heard that song. the lyrics are kinda depressing… i like it.anyways… this is jan if you didn’t know… :-) have a great day!

  2. I’ve never heard this song, J.Mast, but it sounds like something that would get me a little bit misty.You know what makes me cry? That I feel like I haven’t seen you in weeks. I miss you!

care to share?

