The Inner Voice of Who Knows What

the pilgrimage: Henri Nouwen and my own topsy-turvy little heart

I had a good day. Did you?

Today I met a man named Singh while we were waiting at the doctor’s office, for an appointment I had no desire to follow through with.
He told us all about how in India his light blue eyes felt very strange and out of place, but in Germany he found them to be beautiful… he walked us through all the symbolism of his devout Sikh faith… and he ended up giving me one of his bracelets (karra), engraved with Punjabi words of wisdom about the god that I believe both of us love deeply.
Today I had the chance to dance around with some great authors and play my harmonica to old time revival music, complete with washboard. We heard Mark Scandrette give an incredible spoken word exhortation to reimagine… everything.
I felt like I stumbled into a poetry jam in 1908. And that is a good combination to stumble into.
Really, who wouldn’t want to meet these guys?

Single Post Navigation

care to share?

